The Oak Ridge Boys 'Tweet' Their Fans

Posted by Melanie Agee on 09/22/2011

 The Oak Ridge Boys release of their new CD, It’s Only Natural, and celebrate the 30th anniversary of “Elvira.” To help celebrate, Jessica Northey hosted a live chat with Internet powerhouse. The band has also launched into the world of social networking by generating 84 million impressions during their TweetChat (#CMchat – “Where Country Music Meets You”).

Northey is the founder of the Country Music Chat on Twitter, and she’s also the owner of Finger Candy Media, LLC. She says the event with the Oak Ridge Boys was an unparalleled and remarkable success. “My fingers are still so sore from trying to keep up with the chat last night. Any artist or band could learn from the Oak Ridge Boys about how to engage with their fans,” she says. “I am still receiving thanks and tweets from people talking about how incredible the OAKS were. I don't know if my Tweetdeck has recovered from the volume of tweets.”
The #CMchat is hosted weekly and has generated 300 million impressions. It is the first and only registered live “country music chat” on Twitter.
The chat with the Oaks took place after a special appearance during the ACM Honors at the historic Ryman Auditorium. The group was also proud to share the monumental milestone with their fans and Northey. “Jessica is brilliant and well thought of in social network circles. When she throws a party people show up. Our #CMchat on Twitter was just huge,” says Joe Bonsall.
Their most recent album, It’s Only Natural, was released through the Cracker Barrel Old Country Store exclusive music program. It features a new recording of their hit, “Elvira,” as well as six other hits and five new songs.
It’s Only Natural Track List:
1.     What’cha Gonna Do? (Steven J. Williams, Wil Nance & Sherrie Austin)
2.     True Heart (Michael James Bruce Clark & Don Schlitz)
3.     Before I Die (Woody Mullis & Trey Matthews)
4.     Gonna Take a Lot of River (Mark Henley & John Kurhajetz)
5.     No Matter How High (Even Stevens & Joey Scarbury)
6.     The Shade (Shane Decker & Troy Jones)
7.     Elvira (Dallas Frazier)
8.     Louisiana Red Dirt Highway (Vernon Rust)
9.     Beyond Those Years (Troy Harold Seals & Eddie F. Setser)
10.   Wish You Could Have Been There (Steven Dall, Casey Marshall & John Kennedy)
11.   Lucky Moon (Mark Wright & Doug Johnson)
12.   Sacrifice… For Me (Joe Bonsall)
The Oak Ridge Boys are also the newest members inducted into the Grand Ole Opry.