Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Inducts New Members


 The Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame inducted country superstars Garth Brooks and Alan Jackson and hit songwriters John Bettis, Thom Schuyler and Allen Shamblin into the Hall of Fame, Sunday, Oct. 16. The ceremony took place during the 41st Anniversary Hall of Fame Dinner & Induction Ceremony, held at the Renaissance Nashville Hotel.

The event was presented by AT&T and celebrated through musical contributions from the newest inductees for a capacity audience of more than 1,000.
"We are honored to recognize extraordinary songwriting talent as personified by John Bettis, Garth Brooks, Alan Jackson, Thom Schuyler and Allen Shamblin, and we are proud to salute the unique way each of them has brought their music to Music City and the world,” said John Van Mol, Chairman of the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Foundation. “Our 2011 inductees now take their rightful place alongside the all-time greats of Nashville songwriting."
Manager Bob Doyle and producer/Hall of Fame songwriter Allen Reynolds inducted Garth Brooks. "The greatest award in the music business is to be called a songwriter," Brooks said to the audience. Brooks’ co-writers performed a medley of his songs: Hall of Fame songwriter Pat Alger “The Thunder Rolls;” Kent Blazy “If Tomorrow Never Comes;” Stephanie Davis “We Shall Be Free;” Victoria Shaw “The River,” and Jenny Yates “When You Come Back To Me Again.”
Alan Jackson was inducted by Capitol Nashville label head Mike Dugan. Alan laughed with the audience when reminiscing when he first moved to Nashville to pursue music, "I was just stupid enough not to be scared...but it's been going pretty good." The Wrights performed a medley of Jackson’s songs, including “Good Time,” “Remember When,” “Chattahoochee,” “Don’t Rock the Jukebox” and “Here In The Real World,” before four-time NSAI Songwriter/Artist of the Year Taylor Swift took the stage to perform “Where Were You."
Co-writer Michael Clark inducted John Bettis, who called his induction into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame “the greatest honor I’ve ever gotten.” Brett James and Wayne Kirkpatrick performing a medley of “Heartland,” “Yesterday Once More,” “Slow Hand” and “Human Nature”, to honor Bettis.
Thom Schuyler was inducted by co-writer/Hall of Fame songwriter Don Schlitz. He thanked Nashville "for receiving so many poets from around the world and making them feel at home." Co-writers Fred Knobloch, Tony Arata and Jelly Roll Johnson performed a medley of the Schuyler songs: "Love Will Turn You Around," "Long Line of Love," "Old Yellow Car” and “Years After You.”
Co-writer and Hall of Fame songwriter Mike Reid inducted Allen Shamblin. When accepting the honor Shamblin said, "If I've done anything right in this town, it's because of the people around me. This means more than I can ever say." Country artist Lionel Cartwright performed a medley of his songs, including “He Walked On Water,” “Don't Laugh At Me” and “The House That Built Me.” Wynonna closed out the set with " I Can't Make You Love Me."
The event also presented a special tribute to legendary music publisher David Conrad. Rondor Music President Lance Freed presented him with the Frances Williams Preston Mentor Award. The Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame inductions also presented its annual Songwriter Achievement Awards.
Kimberly Perry’s “If I Die Young,” garnered the Song of the Year.
The Songwriter of the Year prize went to Chris DuBois for co-writing hits such as Brad Paisley’s “Anything Like Me,” “Old Alabama” and “Water.”
Fourth-time winner in five years, Taylor Swift, was presented with the Songwriter/Artist of the Year for her hits including “Back to December” and “Mean.”
The writers of NSAI’s Professional Songwriters Division also named 10 songs and writers for the organization’s 2011 awards. They named “The Songs I Wish I’d Written” as the following:
“American Honey” (Cary Barlowe, Hillary Lindsey, Shane Stevens / recorded by Lady Antebellum)
 “Are You Gonna Kiss Me Or Not (Jim Collins, David Lee Murphy / recorded by Thompson Square)
“Hello World” (Tom Douglas, Tony Lane, David Lee / recorded by Lady Antebellum)
“Homeboy” (Casey Beathard, Eric Church / recorded by Eric Church)
“Honey Bee” (Rhett Akins, Ben Hayslip / recorded by Blake Shelton)
“If I Die Young” (Kimberly Perry / recorded by The Band Perry)
“Mean” (Taylor Swift / recorded by Taylor Swift)
“Pretty Good At Drinkin' Beer” (Troy Jones / recorded by Billy Currington)
“The Boys Of Fall” (Casey Beathard, Dave Turnbull / recorded by Kenny Chesney)
“Who Are You When I'm Not Looking” (Earl Bud Lee, John Wiggins / recorded by Blake Shelton).
For more information on the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Foundation, visit: