Garth Brooks


One of the country music’s most awarded artist, Garth Brooks, is a pivotal figure in the history of the music industry. Certified by the RIAA as the #1 selling solo artist in US history, Brooks has sold an estimated 128 million albums.  As the only artist in history to have 6 albums top the 10 million mark, he has been certified 5 times platinum. 
This year Brooks became the first artist to release an edition for a charitable cause. His inspired work, which includes No Fences, Ropin’ The Wind, The Hits, and Double Live, launched country music to the front pages of feature magazines. At one point, Forbes even featured an edition labeled “Country Conquers Rock”, which mentioned Brooks as a world class performer. According to the Recording Industry Association of America, Brooks is the top-selling solo artist of the 20th century.
Garth Brooks – A Road Less Traveled…
Garth Brooks, originally named Troyal Garth Brooks, is the son of Troyal and Colleen Carroll Brooks. Brooks was born on February 7, 1962 in Tulsa, Oklahoma. As a child, it was no surprise Brooks had an interest in country music, but his success in athletics led him down a different path. He received an athletic scholarship to Oklahoma State University as a javelin tosser.
After dropping the sport mid-way through college, Brooks began singing in local Stillwater clubs with guitarist Ty England. Upon graduating from college with a degree in Advertising, Brooks decided to pursue a career as a country music artist. He traveled to Nashville in 1985 with dreams of being discovered by a country record label. He became frustrated with the inner workings of the country music industry and moved back to Oklahoma after convincing himself he had tried to achieve naïve goals. He continued to perform in Oklahoma where he eventually married his college sweetheart, Sandy Mahl.
In 1987 Brooks moved back to Nashville with his bride, this time with a newly found knowledge of how the music industry operated. He quickly made connections with various songwriters and producers and recorded on others’ demo tapes. Brooks also developed a strong management team, but every label refused to sign him.
In 1988, weeks after Capitol Records rejected his demo, a label executive experienced Brooks singing at a local club. Captivated with his performance, he convinced the label to sign Garth.
Garth Brooks- A Climb To The Top…
In 1988, producer Allen Reynolds recorded Brooks first album. The record was an instant success, featuring Brooks first single, “Much Too Young”, which climbed to the top of country music charts. Brooks debut albums also featured three other hit singles, "If Tomorrow Never Comes," the number two "Not Counting You," and "The Dance". However, it was his second album, No Fences, that established him as a country icon. No Fences was released in the fall of 1990, followed by "Friends in Low Places.”    
Brooks captivated a new audience that embraced country music in the '90s. Brooks acquired newly found fame after winning a Grammy award, 11 American Music Awards, and 10 Country Music Association Awards, 14 Academy of Country Music Awards, 5 music awards, and 8 People Choice Awards. He was named Artist of the '90s at the 1997 Blockbuster Entertainment Awards. His marriage to Sandy Mahl ended respectfully in 2000. After five years of dating, Brooks tied the knot with long-time duet partner and friend, Trisha Yearwood.
His final studio album for Capitol, Scarecrow was released on November 13, 2001, and debuted at #1 on the Billboard Top 200. This marked the 7th time he debuted at #1 on the Top 200 chart and the 9th time to debut atop the Country Albums chart. It was also among the 10 best selling country albums of 2001. Additional information on Garth Brooks can be found at    
Awards & Nominations


  • Garth Brooks
  • Fresh Horses
  • Scarecrow
  • The Magic of Christmas: Call Me Claus
  • In Pieces *Ropin’ the Wind
  • The Chase
  • No Fences
  • The Hits
  • Beyond the Season
  • The Collection
  • Double Live
  • Sevens

 Ultimate Hit Singles

  • "Ain’t Going Down (‘Til the Sun Comes Up)"
  • “Friends in Low Places”
  • “Shameless”
  • “Two of a Kind Workin’ on a Full House”
  • “The Beaches of Cheyenne”
  • “If Tomorrow Never Comes”
  • “Papa Loved Mama”
  • “More Than a Memory”
  • “Good Ride Cowboy”
  • “In Another’s Eyes”
  • “The Fever”
  • “Longneck Bottle”
  • “Learning to Live Again”
  • “The Dance”
  • “Two Piña Coladas”
  • “Beer Run”
  • “Unanswered Prayers”
  • “What She’s Doing Now"