Garth Brooks and Alan Jackson Among Nashville Songwriter Hall Of Fame Announces Inductees

Posted by Julia Simpson on 08/25/2011

On Sunday, October 16th, five of country’s best songwriters will be inducted into the Nashville Songwriter Hall of Fame. The honorees in the Songwriter category are John Bettis, Thom Schuyler and Allen Shamblin; from the Songwriter/Artist category, Garth Brooks and Alan Jackson. 

John Van Mol, chairman of the Hall of Fame, said, “These five very talented individuals are among an era of powerhouse writers and artists who propelled country music to unparalleled heights beginning in the late 1980s and early 1990s, and also made substantial contributions to popular and rock music. We look forward to a fantastic evening of recognition for our inductees, and great entertainment for all who attend."
This year marks the 41st annual Nashville Songwriter Hall of Fame Dinner and Induction Ceremony, which will presented by AT&T and held at the Renaissance Nashville Hotel. Though most years only three songwriters are honored, this year the board of directors decided to nominate five individuals. "Songwriters and songwriter/artists with ties to Nashville have made our city the songwriting capital of the world," Van Mol said. "This year's inductees have greatly enhanced that reputation and are richly deserving of Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame honors."
Some of Bettis’ hits include “Top Of The World” (The Carpenters, Lynn Anderson) and “Slow Hand” (The Pointer Sisters, Conway Twitty). Schuyler made a name for himself with the songs “Love Will Turn You Around” (Kenny Rogers) and “A Long Line Of Love” (Michael Martin Murphey). Shamblin penned “I Can’t Make You Love Me” (Bonnie Raitt) and “The House That Built Me” (Miranda Lambert). Brooks’ accomplishments include “The Thunder Rolls” and “The River.” Jackson both wrote and sang chart topping songs such as “Chattahoochee” and “Where Were You (When The World Stopped Turning).”
The evening will feature tributes, performances, and awards for the inductees. Tickets for the event are $200 each. A limited number of seats are available to the public and may be purchased by contacting event director Mark Ford at or 615-256-3354.