CMT Announces Their Artists Of The Year

CMT Artists of Year logo 2011
They’ve sold tons of albums, won too many awards to count, and played to packed concert arenas all over the country, and next month, five of the year’s best country artists will be honored in their own special on CMT. Jason Aldean, Kenny Chesney, Taylor Swift, Brad Paisley, and Lady Antebellum have all had an incredible year in the world of country music, and their success will be recognized on December 13 at 9pm ET/PT on CMT and Joining in the celebration, taped at Nashville’s Bridgestone Area with host Rob Lowe, will be a number of guest performers and appearances, including The All-American Rejects, The Avett Brothers, Ellen DeGeneres, Gavin DeGraw, NASCAR driver Jeff Gordon, celebrity chef Stephanie Izard, Nickelback’s Chad Kroeger, Miranda Lambert, Matthew McConaughey, New Orleans Saints head coach Sean Payton, Lionel Richie, Joe Walsh of the Eagles and Hank Williams Jr.
The top five artists were chosen based on number of sales, radio play, concert earning, and activity on The Artists of the Year festivities will include a celebratory dinner for honorees and their guests, prepared by celebrity chef Stephanie Izard, “Top Chef” winner and chef/partner of Girl & The Goat restaurant in Chicago.
For more information on the honorees and event, follow CMT on Twitter (@FollowCMT), Facebook, or mobile app CMT Insider, available at