CMT Announces 'Breakthrough Video' Nominees


CMT announced the nominees for "USA Weekend" Breakthrough Video of the Year at its 2011 CMT Music Awards, the only entirely fan-voted award ceremony.
Newcomers Lee Brice, Aaron Lewis, Jerrod Niemann, The Band Perry and Thompson Square made the ballot.
Husband and wife duo Thompson Square mentioned the nomination comes amid a "whirlwind of a year" for them.
"We are in great company for this award category and are so excited to have a part in this year’s CMT Music Awards," said wife Shawna. "We feel so blessed for the chance to just play music--this nomination is the cherry on the cake!"
Lee Brice had a similar reaction. "I’ve been watching CMT since we got it in my hometown so I was excited when I heard the news. A video is so important to a song in terms of feeling," he said. "The other nominees are not only talented artists but also my friends so it should be a lot of fun."  
CMT's Evan Farmer will announce the rest of the nominations April 27 at 10 a.m. ET on the "Today" show. Voting on will follow, and the winners will be announced June 8 when the 2011 CMT Music Awards premieres.
Lee Brice -- "Love Like Crazy"
Aaron Lewis -- "Country Boy"
Jerrod Niemann -- "Lover, Lover"
The Band Perry -- "If I Die Young"
Thompson Square -- "Are You Gonna Kiss Me or Not"