Canadian Country Music Honors Industry And Artists

Posted by Katie Ball on 07/11/2008

The Canadian Music Hall of Fame is adding three incredible elements of the Canadian Country Music scene to their halls in 2008. Prairie Oyster, Brian Ferriman and Wes Montgomery will be inducted into the hall of fame during Country Music week in Winnipeg, September 5-8. All three have been integral parts of the Country Music business in Canada and are welcome additions. Prairie Oyster, six-time winners of the CCMA Group of the Year award, has been performing together in some form for over thirty years. Members Russell deCarle, Keith Glass, Dennis Delorme, Joan Besen and John P. Allen just released their eighth studio album. Brian Ferriman has been a staple in the industry, providing several artists with a platform to release their albums in the form of his company Savannah Records. Ferriman received the CCMA Manager of the Year award eight time. Artists like Michelle Wright, Terry Sumsion and The Good Brothers all produced albums with him. Broadcaster Wes Montgomery played country when country wasn’t cool on his Top 40 station in Edmonton. The Country Music week will end with the CCMA Awards on Monday, September 8.