Alan Jackson and "You're Gonna Miss This" Get Top Honors at ASCAP Awards

Posted by Courtney Drake on 10/20/2009
Alan-Jackson-Performs-2009-ASCAP-Awards, From The Tennessean

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) held its annual Country Music Awards Monday night in Nashville at the Ryman Auditorium. The big winners of the night were songwriter Ashley Gorley and Alan Jackson. Gorley took home the award for Songwriter of the Year for Trace Adkins' "You're Gonna Miss This," Brad Paisley and Keith Urban's "Start A Band" and Darius Rucker's "It Won't Be Like This For Long" while Jackson won Songwriter/Artist of the Year for "Good Time" and "Country Boy."
“The first time I heard ‘You’re Gonna Miss This,’ we were getting ready for my daughter’s wedding,” Adkins told The Tennessean of the song that won ASCAP's Song of the Year. “I got choked up, and I thought, ‘I’ve got to say this for her, and for myself.’"
ASCAP Senior Vice President Connie Bradley and president and CEO Paul Williams served as co-host for the evening, which also featured a tribute to Golden Note Award winner J.D. Souther, whose hits include the Eagles' "Best of My Love" and "Heartache Tonight."