Send to Friend

Story from Country Music News and Entertainment - CountryHound

%message %body

Miranda Lambert, Taylor Swift Reign Over 46th ACM Awards


The 46th Annual Academy of Country Music Awards in Las Vegas delivered a royal flush of stellar superstar performances Sunday night, and country’s finest cashed in big.
Country’s international girl Taylor Swift took home the night’s biggest honor for the fan-voted Entertainer of the Year. More than 600,000 votes were cast in the category.
“This is the first time I've ever won this, and I'm just losing my mind,” said the 21 year old. “The fact that this is from the fans makes it so beautiful....We just got back from Asia and Europe on tour. Thank you for this wonderful welcome home gift, and thanks for not forgetting about me.”
But the night’s top winner was Miranda Lambert, who ruled the ceremony with wins for Song, Single and Video of the Year for her smash “The House That Built Me” in addition to a nod as Female Vocalist of the Year.
“I don't know why I'm up here. I feel so blessed, so humbled,” Lambert said. “I love country music fans. Thanks for coming out to the shows, and thanks for believing in me. I love y'all so much.”
Both Swift and Lambert also took to the stage to perform new singles. Lambert provided her usual country twang to “Heart Like Mine,” while Swift delivered an acoustic sound on banjo with her new one, “Mean.”
In addition, the show was full of superstar collaborations, including Carrie Underwood with Steven Tyler, Zac Brown Band with James Taylor, and Sugarland’s Jennifer Nettles with Rihanna.
Brad Paisley, who won his fifth consecutive ACM for Male Vocalist of the Year, opened the show with special guests, the founding members of iconic country group Alabama.
“I'm honestly shocked,” Paisley said when he accepted his award. “This is way too many of these for me. I'm so thankful to the fans of country music for this shot to do this for a living.”
Lady Antebellum won their share of trophies, too. In fact, the trio was the second most awarded of the night behind Lambert.
With wins for Album of the Year, both as producers and artists, and Vocal Group of the Year, member Hillary Scott acknowledged the other artists who’ve helped them along the way.
“We'd like to thank every single artist who has ever given us the stage to open up for them – Keith Urban, Kenny Chesney, Martina McBride, Jason Aldean,” she said.
The Band Perry, another country trio, won their second ACM after performing their Gold certified single “If I Die Young,” beating out Eric Church for the Top New Artist trophy.
“We are a family band here in The Band Perry,” lead singer Kimberly Perry said. “So first of all, my brothers and I would like to thank our fantastic parents, Marie and Steve Perry. Thank you to the beautiful fans of country music. Thank you so much for lending us your ears and hard-earned dollars. We are so humbled by this. Our songs belong to you, absolutely.”
This year marked the first in 13 consecutive years that Reba McEntire shared her hosting duties with Blake Shelton. In addition, McEntire performed her new single “When Love Gets a Hold of You,” and Shelton performed his new tune “Honey Bee.”
The show also featured performances by Jason Aldean (“Dirt Road Anthem”), Dierks Bentley (“Am I the Only One”), Eric Church (“Smoke a Little Smoke”), Sara Evans (“A Little Bit Stronger”), Sugarland (“Tonight”), Toby Keith (“Somewhere Else”), Martina McBride (“Teenage Daughters”), Darius Rucker with the ACM Lifting Lives Music Camp (“Music From the Heart”), Ronnie Dunn (“Bleed Red”) and Keith Urban (“Without You”).
Here’ a full list of Sunday’s ACM winners:
Entertainer of the Year: Taylor Swift
Top Male Vocalist of the Year: Brad Paisley
Top Female Vocalist of the Year: Miranda Lambert
Top Vocal Duo of the Year: Sugarland
Top Vocal Group of the Year: Lady Antebellum
Album of the Year: Need You Now, Lady Antebellum
Single of the Year: "The House That Built Me," Miranda Lambert
Song of the Year: "The House That Built Me," Miranda Lambert
Video of the Year: "The House That Built Me," Miranda Lambert
Vocal Event of the Year: "As She's Walking Away," Zac Brown Band featuring Alan Jackson
Top New Artist: The Band Perry
Previously Announced Winners:
Career Achievement Award: Reba McEntire
Jim Reeves International Award: Taylor Swift
Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award: Garth Brooks, Larry Gatlin & The Gatlin Brothers
Sources: CMT, AP