Send to Friend

Story from Country Music News and Entertainment - CountryHound

%message %body

The ACM Announces Fan-Voted Newcomer Nominations


The Academy of Country Music announced Wednesday the nominees for both the Top New Solo Vocalist and Top New Vocal Duo or Group categories, both of which will be decided through an online interactive fan vote.

Eric Church, Easton Corbin and Randy Houser are up for Top New Solo Vocalist, while The Band Perry, The JaneDear Girls and Steel Magnolia are the Tope New Vocal Duo or Group nominees.
The Academy will partner with the Great American Country network to air “GAC’s ACM Showcase,” a special dedicated to recognizing the newcomer nominees.
“Like the Academy of Country Music, GAC takes pride in introducing our audience to top new artists and their music early in their career,” said Sarah Trahern, General Manager and Senior Vice President at GAC. “Through this partnership we hope to introduce these six talented acts to a wider audience and enable the country music fans to choose their favorites for the coveted ACM Top New Artist prize.”
Reigning Top New Artist Luke Bryan will host the GAC special, which premieres Jan. 27 at 10 p.m. ET. The special will kick-off fan voting on and
Voting for the categories will close Feb. 24, and the winners in each category will move on to compete for Top New Artist at the 46th Annual ACM Awards.
To decide the new Top New Artist, fans will vote online again starting March 11. Voting will close April 3 when the ACM ceremony airs live at 8 p.m. ET/delayed PT on CBS.
The complete list of nominees for the 46th Annual Academy of Country Music Awards will be announced in February.