Send to Friend

Story from Country Music News and Entertainment - CountryHound

%message %body

Lady Antebellum Nabs Five ACM Awards, Carrie Underwood Receives Entertainer of the Year


Country trio Lady Antebellum stole the stage Sunday night at the Academy of Country Music Awards with five wins, including song and single record of the year for their hit,"Need You Now." The band also snagged Rascal Flatts' seven-year run for best vocal group.
"We are having a blast tonight," singer Charles Kelly said to the crowd during one of the group's acceptance speeches. "We love you all. We will never forget this night."
Blonde bombshell Miranda Lambert also received plenty of spotlight attention. She performed her latest single, "The House that Built Me," and won album of the year with Revolution. She also won the Female Vocalist trophy. "Are you kidding me?" a shocked Lambert said during her acceptance speech. "This music is what I do. It’s the only thing I live for. Thanks for lovin’ it."
Carrie Underwood won the fan-voted Entertainer of the Year Award for the second consecutive year, becoming the first woman in Country Music history to do so.
It came as a shock to Country Music fans that 20-year-old Taylor Swift walked away empty-handed. However, she did soar over the crowd during her performance of "Change." In true Swift style, she also ripped off her first dress to reveal a black outfit underneath. Once she made it to the main stage, she joined The Tritones, a college co-ed capella group, who were on stage. She ended her performance by falling backward into the crowd.
Brad Paisley also fell backwards during his performing of "Water," but instead of fans, he fell into a pool of water. Paisley won Top Male Vocalist of the Year for his fourth consecutive time.
Country newbie Luke Bryan won Top New Artist, and Country megastars Brooks & Dunn won Best Vocal Duo for the 10th time over their 20 year career.
"We are currently in therapy with Brett Favre trying to figure out how to waffle on this," Kix Brooks joked to Associated Press after their win.
Charlie Daniels and John Fogerty sang a rendition of Creedence Clearwater Revival's "Travelin' Band." Toby Keith also gave an emotional performance and dedicated his performace to his late friend, jazz artist and former basketball player Wayman Tisdale.
Zac Brown Band wasn't able to make the show because of their USO tour in the Middle East. However, they sent a video of their performance of "Chicken Fried" that included altered lyrics honoring the military.
Rapper LL Cool J, Olympic gold medalist Lindsey Vonn and music legend Cher were also part of the show.
2010 ACM Award Winners:
Entertainer of the Year

  • Carrie Underwood

Top Male Vocalist of the Year

  • Brad Paisley

Top Female Vocalist of the Year

  • Miranda Lambert

Top Vocal Group of the Year

  • Lady Antebellum

Top Vocal Duo of the Year

  • Brooks & Dunn


  • Luke Bryan


  • Joey + Rory


  • Gloriana


  • Luke Bryan

ALBUM OF THE YEAR [Awarded to Artist(s)/Producer(s)/Record Company(s)]

  • Revolution - Miranda Lambert (Columbia Nashville)
  • Produced by: Frank Liddell, Mike Wrucke

Single Record of the Year [Awarded to Artist(s)/Producer(s)/Record Company(s)]          

  • Need You Now - Lady Antebellum (Capitol Records Nashville)
  • Produced by: Lady Antebellum, Paul Worley 

Song of the Year [Awarded to Composer(s)/Publisher(s)/Artist(s)]

  • Need You Now - Lady Antebellum
  • Composers:  Dave Haywood, Josh Kear, Charles Kelley, Hillary Scott
  • Publishers: EMI Foray Music (SESAC), Darth Buddha (ASCAP), Dwhaywood Music (BMI), Hillary Dawn Publishing (SESAC), Radiobullets Publishing (BMI), Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp. (BMI), Year Of The Dog Music (ASCAP) 

Video of the Year [Awarded to Producer(s)/Director(s)/Artist(s)] (Off Camera Award)

  • White Liar – Miranda Lambert
  • Producer:  Tameron Hedge
  • Director: Chris Hicky

Vocal Event of the Year [Awarded to Artist(s)/Producer(s)/ Record Company(s)] (Off Camera Award)

  • Hillbilly Bone - Blake Shelton featuring Trace Adkins (Reprise Records / Warner Music Nashville)
  • Producer: Scott Hendricks

TRIPLE CROWN AWARD WINNER (Awarded to artists who have won the ACM Top New Artist, Male/Female Vocalist of the Year and Entertainer of the Year Awards)

  • Carrie Underwood


  • Montgomery Gentry