Send to Friend

Story from Country Music News and Entertainment - CountryHound

%message %body

Dierks Bentley’s 'Up on the Ridge' Out June 8

Dierks Bentley

Country star Dierks Bentley has set the release date for his new album, Up on the Ridge, to be June 8. The album will feature acoustic music and is stemmed from bluegrass and roots music, which was what once inspired Bentley to become a Mountry musician. The title track will be the premiere single off of Bentley’s fifth Capitol Nashville record and was motivated by time Bentley spent in rural Tennessee. The single will be released to Country radio on April 12.

“I fell in love with this kind of music the first time I walked into the Station Inn with a fake I.D. at 19 years old … these guys, who were my age, were playing their instruments so hard it knocked your head back. After that, I never missed a Tuesday night there in almost eight years,” explained Bentley. “Without the whole bluegrass community taking me in, I would have had no place to start from. It is my foundation.”
For this project, Bentley was able to collaborate with some of the musicians that inspire him the most, including Bob Dylan, U2 and Kris Kristofferson. Established Country singers Alison Krauss, Vince Gill, Jamey Johnson and Miranda Lambert also make some guest vocal appearances on the album. Other players that helped contribute include some of the top names in Bluegrass and acoustic music. Among them are Chris Thile and the Punch Brothers, the Del McCoury Band, the renowned Sam Bush, dobro player Rob Ickes, guitarist Bryan Sutton, fiddler Stuart Duncan, and mandolinist Ronnie McCoury. Five tracks on the album were co-written by Bentley himself. 
1. Up On The Ridge
(Written by Angelo Petraglia, Dierks Bentley, Background Vocals by Alison Krauss)
2. Fallin’ For You
(Written by Shawn Camp, Paul Kennerly, Background Vocals by Chris Stapleton)
3. Senor (Tales of Yankee Power) (with The Punch Brothers featuring Chris Thile)
(Written by Bob Dylan)
4. Rovin’ Gambler (with The Punch Brothers)
(Written by Jon Randall Stewart, Dierks Bentley)
5. Draw Me A Map
(Written by Jon Randall Stewart, Dierks Bentley, Background Vocals by Alison Krauss)
6. Bad Angel (Featuring Miranda Lambert, Jamey Johnson)
(Written by Verlon Thompson, Suzi Ragsdale)
7. Fiddlin’ Around
(Written by John Scott Sherrill, Shawn Camp, Jeff Austin, Background Vocals by Vince Gill)
8. You’re Dead to Me
(Written by Tim O’Brien, Jon Randall Stewart, Dierks Bentley, Background vocals by Tim O’Brien)
9. Pride (In The Name Of Love) (with The Punch Brothers featuring Del McCoury)
(Written by Adam Clayton, Larry Mullen, Dave Evans, Paul David Hewson)
10. Love Grows Wild
(Written by Julie Miller, Buddy Miller)
11. Bottle to The Bottom (featuring Kris Kristofferson)
(Written by Kris Kristofferson)
12. Down In The Mine
(Written by Jon Randall Stewart, Dierks Bentley, Background vocals by Sonya Isaacs)
Bentley will perfom 24 shows in 30 days sharing his new music as part of his Up on the Ridge tour. Full list of tour dates may be found at To preview a short film on the making of Up on the Ridge, click here: