Send to Friend

Story from Country Music News and Entertainment - CountryHound

%message %body

Merle Haggard Returns With New Album, ‘I Am What I Am’

Posted by Irene Lee on 02/26/2010
Merle Haggard returns on April 20 with his new album, I Am What I Am, his first album with Vanguard Records. Haggard co-produced the 12-track album with longtime cohort Lou Bradley.
Haggard turns inward on his new album, but I Am What I Am is no place for apologies. The tone of these tracks reflect a man profoundly comfortable in his weathered skin.
I Am What I Am is anchored by Haggard’s band, The Strangers, which includes Don Markam on trumpet, Doug Colosio on piano, drummer Biff Adam, Norm Hamlet on steel guitar, Scott Joss on fiddle and guitar and Kevin Williams on bass with lead guitars from Tim Howard and Haggard’s son, Ben Haggard.

For more on Merle Haggard, visit

I Am What I Am Track Listing:

  1. I’ve Seen It Go Away
  2. Pretty When It’s New
  3. Oil Tanker Train
  4. Live And Love Always
  5. The Road To My Heart
  6. How Did You Find Me Here
  7. We’re Falling In Love Again
  8. Bad Actor
  9. Down At The End Of The Road
  10. Stranger In The City
  11. Mexican Bands
  12. I Am What I Am