Send to Friend

Story from Country Music News and Entertainment - CountryHound

%message %body

Carrie Underwood Voted the Academy of Country Music's Entertainer of the Year





st1\:*{behavior:url(#ieooui) }

/* Style Definitions */
{mso-style-name:"Table Normal";
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
font-family:"Times New Roman";

Carrie Underwood was named the Academy of Country Music’s Entertainer of the Year last night in Las Vegas. She also picked up an award for Female Artist of the Year.

This marks only the seventh time in the ACM’s 39-year history that a female has won the Entertainer of the Year award, and first in eight years. Underwood unseated reigning king Kenny Chesney, who had won the past 4 years.
Underwood was elated to win the award, saying, "I’ve had a lot of good moments in the past four years; this one takes the cake. Thank you, ACMs, for nominating me in the first place. I never thought I’d be nominated, and I never thought I would win."
The Dixie Chicks were the last women to claim the Entertainer award in 2001. The previous year, Shania Twain was the last solo female to take it.
Brad Paisley won Top Male Vocalist, for the third year in a row. Rascal Flatts broke Alabama’s old record by taking the Top Vocal Group award for the seventh consecutive year. Sugarland repeated as Top Vocal Duo, and Jamey Johnson won Song of the Year for the second time in three years with "In Color."
Julianne Hough won the New Artist of the Year, Jamey Johnson took Song of the Year for “In Color”, and Sugarland repeated as Top Vocal Duo.
Here are the winners for 44th annual ACM Awards:
• Entertainer of the Year: Carrie Underwood
• Top Male Vocalist: Brad Paisley
• Top Female Vocalist: Carrie Underwood
• Top Vocal Duo: Sugarland
• Top Vocal Group: Rascal Flatts
• Top New Male Vocalist: Jake Owen
• Top New Female Vocalist: Julianne Hough
• Top New Duo or Group: Zac Brown Band
• Top New Artist: Julianne Hough
• Album of the Year: Fearless, Taylor Swift, producer: Nathan Chapman
• Single of the Year: "You’re Gonna Miss This," Trace Adkins, producer: Frank Rogers
• Song of the Year: "In Color," writers: Jamey Johnson, James Otto, Lee Thomas Miller
• Video of the Year: "Waitin’ On A Woman," Brad Paisley
• Vocal Event of the Year: "Start A Band," Brad Paisley Duet with Keith Urban