Send to Friend

Story from Country Music News and Entertainment - CountryHound

%message %body

Academy of Country Music Award Nominees Announced Today

In a press conference held this morning at the Country Music Hall of Fame in Nashville, nominees for the 44th Annual ACM awards were announced. Julianne Hough, Jessica Simpson, Kellie Pickler and LeAnn Rimes were there to read the nominations.Artists who received the most nominations include Brad Paisley, Heidi Newfield, George Strait, Jamey Johnson, Kenny Chesney, Keith Urban and Carrie Underwood. Brad Paisley is nominated for a 6 different categories, including Entertainer of the Year and Top Male Vocalist of the Year, which is a category he has won at the past two ACM awards. His single, “Waitin’ On a Woman,” received three nominations for Song of the Year, Video of the Year and Single of the Year. Paisley also received a nomination along with Keith Urban for Vocal Event of the Year for “Start a Band.”Heidi Newfield’s “Johnny and June” single scored her nominations for Single of the Year, Video of the Year and artist and composer for Song of the Year.  Newfield is also nominated for Top Female Vocalist.Once again Kenny Chesney is nominated for Entertainer of the Year, a category he has won for the past four years in a row. Chesney is also nominated with Mac McAnally for artist and producer of “Down The Road,” as well as for Top Male Vocalist.Artists such as Taylor Swift, Sugarland, Brooks & Dunn, Little Big Down, Trace Atkins, James Otto and Jake Owen are all nominated for two awards.In the past, fans were able to vote for Entertainer of the Year, but this year, along with that category, fans will also be able to vote for Top New Female Vocalist, Top New Male Vocalist and Top New Vocal Duo or Group. Fans will be able to start voting tomorrow, Friday, Feb. 13, on The winners of these categories will then compete for the Top New Artist Award, a new category. Once the winners have been established, fans can then go on to vote for Top New Artist and Entertainer of the Year at Performers and presenters for the show will be announced at a later date. However, it has been confirmed that Reba McEntire will host the show again for the 11th time.Catch the 44th Annual Academy of Country Music Awards live on CBS Sunday, April 5, at 8 p.m. The awards will once again be held at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas.    Normal 0 false false false MicrosoftInternetExplorer4 st1\:*{behavior:url(#ieooui) } /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0in; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:10.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-ansi-language:#0400; mso-fareast-language:#0400; mso-bidi-language:#0400;} Following is the list of final nominees; Nominees for Album of the Year will be announced in March. Winners in each of the following categories, except where noted, will be presented with an ACADEMY OF COUNTRY MUSIC AWARD during the television broadcast:     Entertainer of the Year ·    Kenny Chesney ·    Brad Paisley ·    George Strait ·    Keith Urban ·    Carrie Underwood   Top Male Vocalist ·    Kenny Chesney ·    Toby Keith ·    Brad Paisley ·    George Strait ·    Keith Urban   Top Female Vocalist ·    Miranda Lambert ·    Heidi Newfield   ·    Taylor Swift ·    Carrie Underwood ·    Lee Ann Womack   Top Vocal Group ·    Lady Antebellum ·    Little Big Town ·    Rascal Flatts ·    Randy Rogers Band ·    The Lost Trailers   Top Vocal Duo ·    Big & Rich ·    Brooks & Dunn ·    Joey & Rory ·    Montgomery Gentry ·    Sugarland   Top New Male Vocalist** ·    Jamey Johnson ·    James Otto ·    Jake Owen   Top New Female Vocalist** ·    Sarah Buxton    ·    Julianne Hough ·    Ashton Shepherd   Top New Vocal Duo or Group** ·    Eli Young Band ·    The Lost Trailers ·    Zac Brown Band               Single Record of the Year [Award to Artist(s)/Producer(s)/Record Company]      ·    Gunpowder & Lead Miranda Lambert, Produced by Frank Liddell and Mike Wrucke Columbia   ·    In Color Jamey Johnson, Produced by The Ken Hardley Playboys Mercury   ·    Johnny & June Heidi Newfield, Produced by Tony Brown Asylum-Curb   ·    Waitin' On A Woman Brad Paisley, Produced by Frank Rogers Arista Nashville   ·    You're Gonna Miss This             Trace Adkins, Produced by Frank Rogers             Capitol Nashville     Song of the Year [Award to Composer(s)/Publisher(s)/Artist(s)] ·   I Saw God Today George Strait Composers:  Rodney Clawson, Monty Criswell, Wade Kirby Publishers:   Big Red Toe Music (BMI), Blind Mule Music (BMI), Extremely Loud Music (BMI), Steel Wheels Music (BMI)   ·   In Color Jamey Johnson Composers:  Jamey Johnson, Lee Thomas Miller, James Otto Publishers: Big Gassed Hitties (BMI), Eldorotto Music Publishing (BMI), EMI Blackwood Music, Inc., Lucky Thumb Music (BMI), New Song of Sea Gayle (BMI), Noah’s Little Boat Music (BMI)   ·   Johnny & June Heidi Newfield Composers:  Deanna Bryant, Heidi Newfield, Stephony Smith Publishers:  Amylase Music (ASCAP), Big Hit Makers Music (BMI), Rainy Graham Publishing LLC (BMI), Souljet Music Tell Texas Tune III (ASCAP)   ·   Waitin' On A Woman Brad Paisley Composers:  Don Sampson, Wynn Varble Publishers:  EMI April Music, Inc. (ASCAP), Sea Gayle Music LLC (ASCAP), Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp. (BMI)   ·   You're Gonna Miss This Trace Adkins Composers:  Ashley Gorley and Lee Thomas Miller Publishers:  EMI Blackwood Music, Inc. (BMI), Music of Windswept (ASCAP),  Noah’s Little Boat Music (BMI), Song of Combustion (ASCAP), Songs of Sea Gayle (BMI)       Video of the Year [Award to Producer(s)/Director(s)/Artist(s)] ·    Johnny & June - Heidi Newfield Producer:  Karen Martin Director:  Eric Welch        ·    Just A Dream - Carrie Underwood Producer:  Randy Brewer Director:  Roman White   ·    Love Story - Taylor Swift Producer:  Trent Hardville Director:  Trey Fanjoy   ·    Troubadour - George Strait Producer:  Dominic Cancilla Director:  Trey Fanjoy   ·    Waitin' On A Woman - Brad Paisley Producer:  Mark Kalbfeld, Jim Shea Director:  Jim Shea, Peter Tilden     Vocal Event of the Year [Award to Artist(s)/Producer(s)/Record Company] ·    Another Try - Josh Turner Featuring Trisha Yearwood Produced by: Frank Rogers MCA Nashville   ·    Cowgirls Don't Cry - Brooks & Dunn Featuring Reba McEntire Produced by: Kix Brooks, Tony Brown, Ronnie Dunn, Arista Nashville   ·    Down The Road - Kenny Chesney With Mac McAnally Produced by:  Buddy Cannon, Kenny Chesney Blue Chair/BNA   ·    Life In A Northern Town - Sugarland Featuring Little Big Town & Jake Owen             Mercury   ·    Start A Band - Brad Paisley Duet With Keith Urban Produced by: Frank Rogers Arista Nashville