Send to Friend

Story from Country Music News and Entertainment - CountryHound

%message %body

AMA's Honors Robert Plant, Buddy Miller And More

The 10th Annual Americana Honors and Awards Show recognized some of the best singers and musicians in roots music. Robert Plant walked away with one of the greatest honors, Album of the Year, for his album, Band of Joy. Buddy Miller received Artist of the Year and Instrumentalist of the Year. 
Jim Lauderdale hosted the event for the 9th year. It opened with a tribute to the late John Hartford, followed by a performance of "I'll Fly Away," by Alison Krauss, Buddy Miller, Emmylou Harris, Jerry Douglas and Don Was, in honor of the 10th anniversary of the O' Brother Where Art Thou? soundtrack.
New artist, Justin Townes Earle, won Song of the Year for "Harlem River Blues." Not surprisingly, Duo/Group of the Year once again went to The Avett Brothers. Mumford and Sons was awarded New/Emerging Artist of the Year.
This year's Lifetime Achievement Award for Songwriting went to Lucinda Williams. After accepting the award, Lucinda performed her song, "Blessed."
Receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award for Performance went to Gregg Allman. Jerry Douglas was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award for Instrumentalist by Alison Krauss.
Performers for the event included Amos Lee, Elizabeth Cook, The Avett Brothers, The Civil Wars, The Secret Sisters, Miller, Earle, Plant, Hayes Carll and Jessica Lea Mayfield. The event concluded with a performance of "Sweet Melissa" and "Glory,Glory Hallelujah" by Gregg Allman.
On November 19, an abridged version of the event will be broadcast on PBS on an episode of Austin City Limits Presents.
2011 Americana Honors and Awards recipients:
Album of the Year: Band of Joy, Robert Plant
Artist of the Year: Buddy Miller
Instrumentalist of the Year: Buddy Miller
New/Emerging Artist: Mumford and Sons
Song of the Year: "Harlem River Blues," Justin Townes Earle
Duo/Group of the Year: The Avett Brothers
Lifetime Achievement Award for Songwriter: Lucinda Williams
Lifetime Achievement Award for Performance:  Gregg Allman  
Lifetime Achievement Award for Instrumentalist:  Jerry Douglas
Jack Emerson Lifetime Achievement Award for Executive: Rick Hall
Trailblazer Award: Bob Harris